Ph.D. in Physics


Program Description

The subject

The entire study is evaluated with 240 ECTS credits, contains 8 semesters and lasts 4 years. Out of 240 ECTS credits, 180 ECTS are intended for individual work of the student in the framework of individual research work (IRW), and 60 ECTS are for organized forms of study. Within these, the student completes the compulsory courses Introduction to Research and Seminar (3 ECTS credits each, 6 ECTS compulsory content in total), 30 ECTS organized forms of study are completed by the student in the form of work with a tutor in obligatory Individual Research Work IV subjects (3 ECTS each), a total of 15 ECTS credits) and Individual Research Work VI (6 ECTS credits) and under the Doctoral dissertation (9 ECTS credits). The remaining 24 ECTS credits out of 60 ECTS are elective, which the student obtains by completing three core elective courses (6 ECTS each) within the selected modules Physics, Biophysics, Educational Physics and with two elective courses Transferable Skills I and II (3 ECTS each).

Within the IRW, the candidate explores issues related to his doctoral thesis topic. The concept and key ideas are presented by the candidate in the course Seminar in the second semester of the third year.

Selection of a mentor

As a rule, prior to enrolling in the doctoral study, the student must select a work mentor, who is usually the expert in one of the subjects in the doctoral program in Physics. The work mentor must confirm this application in writing and report to the Commission for Graduate Studies in the Department of Physics. If the doctoral candidate does not have a selected work mentor at the time of enrollment, enrollment is discouraged. If the doctoral candidate insists on enrollment, he or she must appoint a working mentor before enrolling in the study program at the Department of Physics and the latter must agree to it. The name of the working mentor is indicated on the enrollment in the education contract signed between the doctoral candidate and the faculty. The contract defines the content and timing of the doctoral studies and the responsibilities and duties of the parties.


Selection of module and electives

At the beginning of the study, the student, in agreement with the work mentor, chooses the area of study: Physics, Biophysics or Educational Physics. Accordingly, he or she chooses electives from different sets. If the student wants to have an individually designed program, he or she selects the module Physics which is the broadest, but if he or she wants to focus explicitly in the field of biophysics or physics in education, he or she selects one of the other two modules.

The student selects from the above sets of elective subjects in agreement with the potential mentor according to the intended topic of the doctoral dissertation and the doctoral topic of the related individual research work. Students who choose the Physics module, select all three electives with 6 ECTS credits each from the PHYSICS course. Students who choose the Biophysics module, choose from three elective courses with 6 ECTS each, at least two from the set of BIOPHYSICS and at most one from the set of PHYSICS. Students who choose the Educational physics module choose from three elective courses with 6 ECTS each, at least one from the set of ISOPHYSICS, at most one from the set of PHYSICS, and at most one from other accredited doctoral programs in the field of education (pedagogy, didactics, etc.)

Upon agreement with the work mentor, a student may earn 12 ECTS from the electives of this program in other relevant accredited study programs, the choice of which must be approved by the Postgraduate Study Committee at the Physics Department of the University of Maribor.

Completion of studies

The student successfully completes his/her studies when he/she completes all the program requirements, thus collecting a total of at least 240 ECTS credits, submitting a written doctoral dissertation and successfully defending it. Before submitting the doctoral dissertation, the candidate must meet the other conditions, which are further specified in the Rules on Doctoral Studies of the UM Doctoral School.


Last updated Sep 2019

About the School

The Faculty of Natural sciences and Mathematics (FNM) was founded in 2006. It came to be when the Faculty of Education broke down into three different faculties. FNM is divided into different departme ... Read More

The Faculty of Natural sciences and Mathematics (FNM) was founded in 2006. It came to be when the Faculty of Education broke down into three different faculties. FNM is divided into different departments: Department of Biology, Department of Physics, Department of Mathematics and Computer Sciences and Department of Technical Studies. The vision of the faculty is to be the leading educational, research and applicatory developing center in the region studying the fields of Biology, Ecology, Physics, and Mathematics. It also strives to be the leading center for educating future teachers in Slovenia in different fields such as Science, Mathematics and Technical studies. Read less