Keystone logo

Best Universities for PHD Programs in Macau 2024

Number of institutions: 2
    • Macau, Macau

    Founded in 1981, the University of Macau (UM) is the only internationalised public comprehensive university in Macao, with a modern governance model. 80 percent of its faculty members are from outside Macao. With English as the main medium of instruction, the university is committed to producing creative and socially responsible graduates with a global mindset and international competitiveness. Quality Education Teaching units at UM include Faculty of Arts and Humanities, Faculty of Business Administration, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Health Sciences, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Social Sciences, Faculty of Science and Technology, Honours College, Graduate School, and Centre for Continuing Education. Research institutes include the Institute of Chinese Medical Sciences, Institute of Applied Physics and Materials Engineering, Institute of Collaborative Innovation, Institute of Microelectronics, Centre for Macau Studies, Asia-Pacific Academy of Economics and Management, and Institute of Advanced Studies in Humanities and Social Sciences. Currently, there are more than 10,000 students at UM. For undergraduate students, the university provides a unique ‘4-in-1’ education, which consists of discipline-specific education, general education, research and internship education, and community and peer education. Adopting a credit system and a collegiate system, the university offers around 130-degree programmes at bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral levels, covering a variety of fields, including literature, language, business administration, marketing, accounting, finance, international integrated resort management, science, education, biomedical science, law, history, economics, psychology, sociology, communication, engineering, computer science, and Chinese medical sciences.

    • Macau, Macau

    Kiang Wu Nursing College of Macau (KWNC), founded in 1923, is a subsidiary institution of Kiang Wu Hospital Charitable Association (KWHCA). Evolving from the former Kiang Wu Nursing and Midwifery School, the College is the oldest nursing education institute in Macau. In 2015, the College received confidence ratings from the UK Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education (QAA) in an institutional quality audit (IQA). The College is striving to enhance the curriculum to be multi-disciplinary and advance towards top-tier training. It is also determined to timely accommodate social demand and medical development. In the past century, with the efforts and strengths of numerous people, Kiang Wu Nursing College of Macau has been developing stably. In 1999, the College was recognized by the government as a private higher education institute and it became the Kiang Wu Nursing College of Macau. In 2002, the College started the first four-year degree of “Bachelor of Science in Nursing”. This had turned a new page in Macau’s nursing higher education. To ensure the quality of the programme and to be in line with international standards, the College requested regular reviews for this degree by experts from the United Kingdom, the United States, Brazil, Thailand, and Hong Kong. The curriculum design, teaching, and learning quality of this degree are recognized by experts and the programme continues to improve.